High-level conference

OCEANS the future of the blue planet



Joint conference of the **European Parliament** and the **European Commission**Plenary chamber, European Parliament, Brussels – 19 March 2019

Draft Programme

12:00 – 14:00 Registration of participants (Atrium welcome point)

14:00 - 15:00 Opening ceremony

- Ioan Denes, Romanian Minister for Water and Forests (TBC)
- Karmenu Vella, Member of the European Commission, responsible for Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries
- Gesine Meissner, Special Envoy of the President of the European Parliament on Maritime Affairs
- Carlos Moedas, Member of the European Commission, responsible for Research, Science and Innovation
- Geneviève Pons, Director of Institut Jacques Delors Brussels office
- Daniela Fernandez, CEO Sustainable Ocean Alliance

Family photo

15:00 – 16:00 Panel 1: Shaping global ocean governance for the future

Chair: Alain Cadec (EPP), Chair of the Parliament's fisheries committee

Introduction: Alain Cadec (EPP), Chair of the Parliament's fisheries committee – João Aguiar Machado, Director of the European Commission's directorate general for maritime affairs and fisheries – Christian Leffler, Deputy Secretary General of the European External Action Service

- José Inácio Faria (EPP), Ulrike Rodust (S&D), Gabriel Mato (EPP)
- Steve Trent, Environmental Justice Foundation
- Maria Damanaki, The Nature Conservancy
- Árni M. Mathiesen, Assistant Director-General FAO Fisheries and Aquaculture
- Pasquale Legora De Feo, CEO CONATECO S.P.A.

Q&A

16:00 - 17:00 Panel 2: Achieving healthy, clean seas and oceans

Chair: Adina-Ioana Vălean (EPP), Chair of the Parliament's committee on environment, public health and food safety

Introduction: Adina-Ioana Vălean (EPP), Chair of the Parliament's committee on environment, public health and food safety – Jean-Eric Paquet, Director of the European Commission's directorate general for research and innovation – Joanna Drake, Deputy Director-General for Environment at the European Commission

- Mark Demesmaeker (ECR), Ricardo Serrão Santos (S&D), Cláudia Monteiro De Aguiar (EPP), Giovanni La Via (EPP)
- Vladimir Ryabinin, Executive Secretary of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission and Assistant Director General of UNESCO
- Peter Herzig, Executive Director at GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research in Kiel
- John Kornerup Bang, Head of Sustainability Strategy and Climate, MAERSK CEO
- Tiago Pitta e Cunha, CEO Oceano Azul Foundation

16:45 – 17:00 Keynote speech

· Antonio Tajani, President of the European Parliament

17:00 – 18:00 Panel 3: A sustainable blue economy, reducing pressures on the oceans

Chair: Hans-Olaf Henkel (ECR), Vice-Chair of Parliament's committee on industry, research and energy

Introduction: Hans-Olaf Henkel (ECR), Vice-Chair of Parliament's committee on industry, research and energy – Emma Navarro, Vice-President of the European Investment Bank – Pierre Delsaux, Deputy Director-General of the European Commission's directorate general for internal market, industry, entrepreneurship and SMEs

- Izaskun Bilbao Barandica (ALDE), Clara Eugenia Aguilera García (S&D), Jakop Dalunde (Greens/EFA)
- Vitor Verdelho, General Manager at the European Algae Biomass Association (EABA)
- Ester Asin, Director of the WWF European Policy Office
- Emanuele Grimaldi, Co-Managing Director at Grimaldi Group
- Rémi Gruet, CEO Ocean Energy Europe
- Christophe Tytgat, Secretary General at SEA EUROPE

Q&A

18:00 – 18:30 Concluding remarks

- Karmenu Vella, European Commissioner for Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries
- Gesine Meissner, Special Envoy of the President of the European Parliament on Maritime Policy





